recent programs

Our PLANT FOR BIRDS outreach program in Wilton Manors recently got the attention of national media.

Learn more about this PLANT FOR BIRDS and

M.E. PARK in Wilton Manors.

Our founders

Paddy Cunningham
Birding Programs Consultant

Zachary Lee  
Past President

  • Lenora Hortt of Pompano Beach
  • August Burghard, Fort Lauderdale
  • Ralph Andrews, Fort Lauderdale
  • Sarah Miller, Fort Lauderdale
  • Lafayette Dow, Pompano Beach
  • Donald Dye, Oakland Park
  • Margaret Dye, Oakland Park
  • Ruth Byrd, Fort Lauderdale
  • John W. Douglass, Fort Lauderdale
  • C. V. Bowes, Jr., Fort Lauderdale
  • Helen Rogers, Hollywood
  • George M. Polk, Jr., Fort Lauderdale 

Original Charter subscribers included:

SOUTH FLORIDA AUDUBON SOCIETY (SFAS) is one of the 45 chapters of Audubon Florida and National Audubon Society, Inc.  We provide a wide range of services to members and the general public including

  • Field trips for watching birds and enjoying nature
  • Environmental education programs
  • Local and regional environmental and conservation advocacy
  • Local, regional, and national events (Water Matters Day, Earth Day,  National Public Lands Day, Christmas Bird Count, and the Great Backyard Bird Count)

SFAS was formerly known as the Broward County Audubon Society.  Because of our growth and regional outreach, we made a change to the name and logo in 2008.  View the history below and our archives for more information about our history.

  • Alberta Chartier, Fort Lauderdale
  • Margaret Dye, Fort Lauderdale
  • Lenora E. Hortt, Fort Lauderdale
  • Arthur D. Inwood, Fort Lauderdale
  • Paul LaRue, Fort Lauderdale
  • Lowry Porter, Fort Lauderdale
  • Mrs. Lowry Porter, Fort Lauderdale
  • Colonel James W. Porter, Fort Lauderdale
  • George Raz, Wilton Manors
  • Hubert W. Robertson, Fort Lauderdale
  • Richard D. Simpson, Fort Lauderdale
  • Paul Nelson, Fort Lauderdale
  • Jean Brooks, Fort Lauderdale
  • Donald C. Little, Fort Lauderdale

The First Board of Directors included:

Jessica DeBlois Sinnes
Vice President

Dr. Heike Naigur

Board Member

January 11, 1956 - The Broward County Audubon Society became an official nonprofit organization on January 11, 1956, and today is classified as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. The purposes and objectives of the Society, as amended since incorporation, were to:

  • Engage in any educational, scientific, investigative, literary, historical, philanthropic, and charitable pursuits as may be, from time to time, elected by the membership.
  •  Arouse public recognition of the value of, and the need for the protection of wild birds and other animals and the plant, soil, water, and other conditions essential to their preservation and development.
  • Hold meetings, lectures, and exhibitions, engage in other educational work in the interest of wildlife, its study, and enjoyment, by both the members and the public.
  • Support the purposes and objectives of the National Audubon Society, Inc. of which the Society shall function as a Chapter.
  • Conform to the provisions of Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and Florida Statutes Section 617.01 et seq.

mission & vision

South Florida Audubon Society fosters conservation through local, regional, national, and global environmental advocacy and activities throughout South Florida focusing on birds, other wildlife, and their habitats, for the benefit of humanity and the earth's biological diversity.

Mike Green

Doug Young

Chief Operating Officer


More than 7,500 people volunteer for us each year and make a difference in the lives of thousands of sea turtles and birds

Find out how you can become involved.

Christine Myers
Board Member

The first Officers included:

Devin Avery Ph.D

current Advisory Committee

Foundation History

Amy Johnson

Board Member

current Board Members

Simona Burshteyn Esq.

Roy David Walker

Urban Conservation Director

Lee Gottlieb

Habitat Restoration Consultant

First President

  • B. Brower Hall, Fort Lauderdale

First Vice President

  • George M. Polk, Oakland Park

First Secretary

  • Ruth Van Every, Fort Lauderdale

First Corresponding Secretary

  • Myrtle Gray, Plantation

First Treasurer,

  • ​Becky Lou Stanley